CD / Digital released 20 November

Limited Edition 12" Vinyl released 5 January 2018

UK Tour February 2018

Minute Taker, aka Manchester-based alternative singer-songwriter Ben McGarvey, releases new mini-album, Reconstruction, his first offering since 2013’s critically acclaimed album, Last Things.  


For Reconstruction, Minute Taker’s haunting piano songs, ethereal harmonies, ambient synths and distorted electronic beats are pushed to new levels of sophistication with eastern-influenced percussive elements, dark fragmented guitars and dream sequence-esque jazz stylings.


Minute Taker describes Reconstruction as... “the search for new improved ways of rebuilding yourself when your world has been blown apart”.

The mini-album features an extended version of Nothing To Fear, a song from HOAX My Lonely Heart, the dark stage musical Minute Taker composed and toured with earlier this year (watch the music video here).


Also included is a cover version of Pet Shop Boys’ classic Heart, which Minute Taker originally devised as a loop pedal experiment for The 405 in 2013 (watch it here).  


Minute Taker has been developing Reconstruction alongside 2 full-length albums, both of which are planned for release in 2018.  They include concept album To Love Somebody Melancholy, which he has been touring as an audiovisual show over 2017, in collaboration with animation artist Ana Stefaniak.

Reconstruction has now been released on CD and download formats.  Limited edition 12” vinyl will follow on 5 January 2018.


Minute Taker will be supporting the release with a mini-tour of English churches in February 2018 (tour dates here).